Social Media
  • NFC Wallet – next-level information

  • NFC Wallet – next-level information

February 2021

These days, it’s hard to imagine a world without wallet passes. They’re involved in all digital booking and information processes, from event tickets to product support. We at Mercedes-Benz Consulting are proud to have established Wallet as an innovative, ecological digital paper substitute in the Daimler world.

Wallet technology’s simplicity wins people over

The COVID-19 pandemic has brought forth all kinds of new everyday challenges that reveal wallet technology’s many advantages. For example, it gave rise to automatic creation of info passes at dealerships, personalized addressing of event participants, and simple creation of customer cards. All this happens contact-free and digitally through the smartphone and — depending on the application — a scanner.

The advantage for the user is that no additional app is needed, because wallet passes can be handled through the native wallet app of all popular smartphones. For the provider, the advantage is that wallet passes can be created quickly and easily, and offer a simple, direct communication and information channel to the user. Moreover, personalized push notifications can be sent — even based on location through GPS or Bluetooth Beacon technology.

QR codes are so yesterday!

Scanning QR codes through digital menus or restaurant check-ins is a process users have learned — the starting point for getting a wallet pass. But it gets easier. The ever more popular contactless payment using virtual credit cards in smartphones shows, for example, how NFC (near-field communication) wallet passes have made handling contactless transfer and validation of wallet cards even easier to do.

This means that wallet passes no longer have to be downloaded on sight as QR codes, but through a simple tap on the smartphone. The same goes for validation. There is no more searching for the wallet pass to scan it, because it is simply and automatically opened and validated by holding out the smartphone.

NFC Wallet at Mercedes-Benz Consulting

Through our partner Passcreator, in the future we at Mercedes-Benz Consulting (MC) will also be able to offer NFC wallet cards for selected applications in specific regions — as one of the few providers worldwide. This means it is faster and easier to get passes for digital model brochures, save dealership wallet passes, check admission tickets, register coupons, confirm memberships, check statuses and manage bonus cards.

In addition to validating passes through the Companion App, this is possible with NFC wallet passes for example through credit card readers — regardless of whether iOS or Android is being used.

In this way, we are making Wallet an even more attractive online-to-offline tool that can be very intuitively used through the MC Wallet front end as a marketing tool for personalized customer dialog.

Mobile Ansicht Wallet NFC

Social Media
  • NFC Wallet – Next Level Information

  • NFC Wallet – Next Level Information

Februar 2021

Wallet Pässe sind aus der heutigen Zeit nicht mehr wegzudenken und finden sich in nahezu allen digitalen Buchungs- und Informationsprozessen, angefangen bei der Eintrittskarte bis hin zur Produktbegleitung. Wir als Mercedes-Benz Consulting sind stolz darauf, Wallet als digitalen, innovativen und umweltfreundlichen Papierersatz im Daimler Umfeld zu etablieren.

Die Wallet Technologie besticht durch Einfachheit

Durch die COVID-19 Pandemie ergeben sich für uns alle neue Herausforderungen im Alltag, wodurch die zahlreichen Vorteile der Wallet Technologie zum Tragen kommen. So ermöglicht diese zum Beispiel die automatisierte Erstellung von Info-Pässen im Autohaus, die personalisierte Ansprache von Veranstaltungsteilnehmern oder die unkomplizierte Erstellung von Kundenkarten. Das alles geschieht kontaktlos und digital, über das Smartphone und – je nach Anwendungsfall – einem Scangerät.

Aus Nutzersicht besteht der Vorteil darin, dass keine zusätzliche Anwendung benötigt wird, sondern Wallet Pässe über die native Wallet App aller gängigen Smartphones bedient werden können. Aus Sicht der Anbieter ist es vorteilhaft, dass die Wallet Pässe unkompliziert und schnell erstellt werden können und einen direkten und einfachen Kommunikations- und Informationskanal zum Nutzer bieten. Zusätzlich können personalisierte Push-Mitteilungen gesendet werden, bei Bedarf auch standortbasiert mit GPS oder Bluetooth-Beacon-Technologie.

QR-Code scannen war gestern

Das Scannen von QR-Codes durch digitale Speisekarten oder „Check-Ins“ in Restaurants ist ein für Nutzer gelernter Prozess geworden – der Ausgangspunkt um einen Wallet-Pass zu erhalten. Doch es geht noch einfacher. Die immer beliebter werdende kontaktlose Bezahlung per virtueller Kreditkarte auf dem Smartphone zum Beispiel zeigt, wie NFC (Near Field Communication) Wallet Pässe die Handhabung für die kontaktlose Übertragung oder Validierung von Wallet-Karten noch komfortabler gestalten.

Wallet Pässe müssen hierdurch nicht mehr “auf Sicht”, also als QR-Code-Scan heruntergeladen werden, sondern durch einen einfachen „tap“ des Smartphones. Gleiches gilt für die Validierung. Der Wallet Pass muss nicht mehr für einen Scan herausgesucht werden, sondern wird einfach automatisch durch hinhalten des Smartphones geöffnet und validiert.

NFC Wallet bei Mercedes-Benz Consulting

Durch unseren Partner Passcreator können wir als Mercedes-Benz Consulting (MC) in Zukunft auch NFC Wallet Karten für ausgewählte Anwendungsfälle in bestimmten Regionen anbieten – als einer von wenigen Anbietern weltweit. So können noch schneller, einfacher und komfortabler Baureihen-Broschüren-Pässe digital mitgenommen, Autohaus-Wallet-Pässe gespeichert, Eintrittskarten überprüft, Gutscheine erfasst, Mitgliedschaften bestätigt, Status gecheckt und Bonuskarten verwaltet werden.

Neben der Validierung der Pässe über die sogenannte Companion App, ist dies mit NFC Wallet Pässen auch z.B. mittels Kreditkartenlesegeräten möglich – egal ob ein iOS oder Android Gerät verwendet wird.

Somit machen wir Wallet zu einem noch attraktiveren Online-to-Offline Tool, das mittels dem MC Wallet Frontend zudem sehr intuitiv als Marketinginstrument zur personalisierten Kundenansprache genutzt werden kann.

Mobile Ansicht Wallet NFC