Social Media
  • »With this tool, everything can be experienced in 3D.«

    Sebastian on the project Virtual Retail Lab

  • »With this tool, everything can be experienced in 3D.«

    Sebastian on the project Virtual Retail Lab

Experience Tomorrow’s Retail
in the Virtual Retail Lab

New circumstances call for new understanding: Through the disruptive force of the digital transformation, retail is on the verge of great structural upheaval. How will the Mercedes-Benz dealership and its environment (call center, etc.) look in the future? How will employees’ everyday work and customers’ purchasing behavior change? How well can new digital possibilities be used to continuously improve retail? To find approaches and solutions, Mercedes-Benz Consulting has developed a digital tool that simulates the dealership and city of the future: the Virtual Retail Lab.

Virtually immersed:
How Future Retail works

Using Mercedes-Benz Consulting’s proprietary Virtual Retail Lab (VRL), retail and its environment can be experienced and tested live. Based on computer game technology, the VRL shows a three-dimensional virtual city, including a dealership, call center, banks, customer homes, etc. With stored job profiles, various architectural designs and processes, the business of the future is brought to life as a game. Current and future scenarios and processes are shown both from the customer point of view and from the employee and IT system perspective, can be understood better and can be adjusted to specific needs. Anyone can interact with the future in a playful way.

The tool opens entirely new possibilities. Whether in sales, after-sales, marketing, cars, vans or trucks, everyone can participate. In keeping with the motto, »Sharing is caring«, all fundamental content is bundled in the VRL. Knowledge is networked and grows continuously.

Three questions for…

… project manager Sebastian Göbel,
Mercedes-Benz Consulting

What was challenging about the Virtual Retail Lab?
In an extremely agile project organization, to develop a tool very close to our customers and that adds maximum value to the day-to-day job. You can see how important every sort of communication is. With the VRL, it is possible to explain things so simply and understandably that there’s no longer anything in the way of successful implementation.

What is the takeaway for you personally?
A good idea by itself is worthless. In innovation, the customer must always be the cornerstone. The prime directive is to seek out relevant problems that can be flexibly solved with a customer orientation.

What’s coming in the future?
The Virtual Retail Lab brings about a platform that already allows people to recognize contexts, opportunities and risks, and to develop new solutions. In the future, we hope to use artificial intelligence to automatically simulate even more complex scenarios than we do now.

»A vivid new experience!«

In the words of our customer Michael Thate, Daimler AG:

»I’ve been looking for something like this for a long time. And I don’t know anybody who isn’t inspired by it.«

In the words of our customer Florian Pruebner, Daimler AG:

»Thank you for the great collaboration in development — for us, it’s an important instrument that implements the new customer language of MAR2020 worldwide.«

Social Media
  • »Mit diesem Tool wird alles 3D erlebbar.«

    Sebastian über das Projekt »Virtual Retail Lab«

  • »Mit diesem Tool wird alles 3D erlebbar.«

    Sebastian über das Projekt »Virtual Retail Lab«

Im Virtual Retail Lab den
Verkauf von morgen erleben

Neue Umstände brauchen ein neues Verständnis: Durch die disruptive Kraft der Digitalen Transformation steht vor allem der Retail vor großen, strukturellen Umwälzungen. Wie sieht das Mercedes-Benz-Autohaus und dessen Umfeld (Call Center etc.) der Zukunft aus? Wie wird sich der Arbeitsalltag der Mitarbeiter und das Einkaufsverhalten der Kunden verändern? Inwiefern können neue digitale Möglichkeiten dafür genutzt werden, um den Retail kontinuierlich zu verbessern? Um für diese und viele weitere Frage Ansätze und Lösungen zu finden, entwickelte die Mercedes-Benz Consulting ein digitales Tool, welches das Autohaus und die Stadt der Zukunft virtuell simuliert: das Virtual Retail Lab.

Virtuell eingetaucht:
So geht Future Retail

Anhand des von Mercedes-Benz Consulting in Eigenregie entwickelten Virtual Retail Lab (VRL) lässt sich der Retail und seine Umgebung live erleben und ausprobieren. Angelehnt an Computerspieltechnologie visualisiert das VRL eine dreidimensionale, virtuelle Stadt inkl. Autohaus, Call Center, Banken, Kundenhäuser etc. Mit hilfe von hinterlegten Jobprofilen, unterschiedlichen Architekturkonzepten und Prozessen wird der Handel der Zukunft spielerisch zum Leben erweckt. Aktuelle und zukünftige Szenarien oder Prozesse werden sowohl aus Kundensicht als auch aus Mitarbeiter- und IT-Systemperspektive sichtbar gemacht, können besser verstanden und an die jeweiligen Bedürfnisse angepasst werden. Jeder kann sich so spielerisch leicht mit der Zukunft auseinandersetzen.

Das Tool eröffnet ganz neue Möglichkeiten. Ob Sales, After-Sales, Marketing oder PKW, Vans, Trucks – jeder kann daran partizipieren. Gemäß dem Motto »sharing is caring« werden alle grundlegenden Inhalte im VRL gebündelt. Wissen wird vernetzt und wächst kontinuierlich.

Drei Fragen an …

… Projektleiter Sebastian Göbel,
Mercedes-Benz Consulting

Was war die Challenge beim Virtual Retail Lab?
In einer extrem agilen Projektorganisation sehr nah an unseren Kunden ein Tool zu entwickeln, welches einen maximalen Mehrwert für die tägliche Arbeit bietet. Hier sieht man, wie wichtig das Thema Kommunikation in jeglicher Art ist. Mit dem VRL ist es möglich, Dinge so einfach und verständlich zu erklären, dass einer erfolgreichen Umsetzung nichts mehr im Wege steht.

Was nimmst Du persönlich mit?
Eine gute Idee allein ist nichts wert. Im Innovationsbereich muss der Kunde immer der zentrale Baustein sein. Die oberste Maxime ist das Aufspüren von relevanten Problemstellungen, die dann kundenorientiert und sehr flexibel gelöst werden.

Was bringt die Zukunft?
Dank des Virtual Retail Lab entsteht eine Plattform, anhand derer man bereits heute Zusammenhänge, Chancen und Risiken besser erkennt und neue Lösungen entwickeln kann. In der Zukunft möchten wir mithilfe von Artificial Intelligence noch weitaus komplexere Szenarien als heute automatisch simulieren.

»Ein neues, bildhaftes Erlebnis!«

Das sagt unser Kunde Michael Thate, Daimler AG:

»So etwas habe ich lange gesucht. Und ich kenne niemanden, der nicht begeistert darauf reagiert.«

Das sagt unser Kunde Florian Pruebner, Daimler AG:

»Danke für die gute Zusammenarbeit in der Entwicklung – für uns ein wichtiges Instrument, die neue Kundenansprache von MAR2020 in die weltweite Umsetzung zu bringen.«